Is Your Baby Racist?

Newsweek Sep 14 2009

As an Uncle many times over, Akh is used to being called Papa, Big Brother or Uncle by the younger warriors in my own family. What’s strange is when complete stranger babies (is that even a term?) call refer to you with the same terms of endearment.

A baby recently ran upto the Akh in a shopping centre over the weekend, wanting me to pick him up. The baby’s mother explained to me that I resembled his ‘uncle’. It got me thinking do all babies see all men of a certain size as being ‘uncle’, regardless of their age, but it definitely got me to thinking about my personal appearance.

This wasn’t the first time a baby confused me with someone it’s related to.

I’ve lost count the amount of times an asian/middle eastern looking baby called me dada. So it could be that babies can’t tell the difference between different ethnicities.

I’m not sure what the implications of that would be. I’m just putting it out there.

On the flipside, every once in a while, a white baby will look funnily at the Akh.

I didn’t want to chalk it up to racism, because I thought racism was something you’re taught, not something that’s naturally ingrained.

But who knows.

It could be that babies are born racist – or they become racist way earlier than we thought.

That’s what this story was about, right?

The fact that white babies are racist?

A comprehensive research programme has shown that “kids as young as 6 months judge others based on skin colour”

I accept its an american study, but us brits are always playing catch up to what happens on the other side of the pond, by a good few years.

We’ve had the “Generation X” whats next?

Leave a comment

Filed under Humour, Media Unspeak, Racism, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

