Take The Ego Challenge

I will make the effort and the results are in my hands OR I will make no efforts and the results are in Allah’s hands, these are both diseased attitudes. The legacy of the Blessed Prophets was that they applied themselves to the Nth degree and then relied on Allah. Make your intentions and muster your best efforts, to the very best of your abilities whilst knowing the results are in Allah’s hands: that’s the balanced attitude.

The Akh received this message from a fellow brother in the struggle. He urged me to take 52 minutes out of my busy schedule to learn one of the most important lessons of my life, guaranteeing that it would make me a better person even if I implemented just one thing I learnt from it.

“52 minutes” I thought….I don’t have the time for that.

But I’m glad that I did.

Make the time, watch the lecture and learn from it.

Then again…if you’ve read thus far and thought to yourself “this isn’t for me, nothing wrong with my ego” perhaps that’s precisely why you need to see this.

“Pride is dissatisfaction with the truth, and belittling the people.” [Hadith in Muslim]

“Indeed, He does not love the proud.” [The Quran – an-Nahl (16):23]

“So enter the gates of Hell to dwell therein. Indeed evil is the abode of the proud. [ The Qur’an – An-Nahl (16):29]

Jumma Mubarak….have a safe weekend.

1 Comment

Filed under Islam, Jumma Reminder, Morals & Ethics, Quran Hadith Sunnah

One response to “Take The Ego Challenge

  1. Talat

    MashAllah may Allah swt bless this brother. so many good comments and so true may Allah swt help me to help myself and to help others

Leave a Reply

