My pictures from the Goodwood Festival of Speed 2012

Goodwood Sculpture – Infinity Loop

I attended the Goodwood Festival of Speed last weekend & thought I’d share a few pictures:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

So what cars did I find interesting?

Formula 1 cars for the sheer engineering.

The Bentley Le Mans car for it’s brute power.

The 1985 Audi Sport Quattro S1 – with snow plough front end, the only car to be designed with a ruler.

1963 Mercedes 300SL (gullwing) – possibly my favourite car of all time

Pagani Zonda R

Some of the bikes were pretty special too….

Carl Fogarty Petronas bike

Valentino Rossi’s Ducati

I had to take a picture of the Ford Cortina, it was in showroom condition.

As was the fully restored 1967 Mk2 Jaguar S type – with offers being invited over £65,000!

I much preferred the old, restored Ford Mustang to it’s newer version.

While Bike exhaust manufacturer Akropovic showed off their creation, the Morsus a perfect fit between form and function – though that seat would give you splinters!

It’s not just a concept – the bike is being produced:

Don’t know if I’d have that over a Ducati 199 Panigale

So there you have it, my round up of the best of the Goodwood Festival of Speed 2012

1 Comment

Filed under Experiences

One response to “My pictures from the Goodwood Festival of Speed 2012

  1. A reminder on how we admire the efforts of man, what comes to mind is the peasants of medieval times, living in hovels having dust floors, upon entering the cathedrals, soaring towards the heavens, the peasant suitable humbled before the Almighty House of God.
    Today we see rockets disappear to the heavens above, am I suitably impressed with rocket science? as the the peasant imagination in flight to celestial heights?
    To have a perspective on Mans endeavors, has to be in relationship to something, why am I overwhelmed to see a bird in flight that fills me with awe that reduces Mans labor of constructions to a modest ability? why am I so unimpressed at Mans constructs of buildings that are more than half a kilometre or more penetrating the sky line? I see a distant jet in the sky, always I look up to find this mechanical bird in flight, nevertheless, the closest sun to our planetary system, being four and a half light years away, is nothing but awesome, for those whom are so impressed with our technical development of the past 100 years that presume we will in the future develop at this astonishing rate, I envy your vision for the future.
    As amazing as Man Woman is in having this boundless faith, I unfortunately am departing company with you, i feel a greater destiny has so far been either overlooked or just put on the back burner, whilst our attention is absorbed with more pressing needs, such as Wimbledon, the Olympic games, and Barclays Banking crises, and Blairs, impoverished income as labor minister of yesterday, sacrificing himself on 3 million pounds per annum, we offer our prayers to those who are as such on difficult times.

Leave a Reply

