Inna lillahi wa inna ilayhi raji’oun – From Allah we come & to him it is we return

Inna lillahi wa inna ilayhi raji’oun – From Allah we come & to him it is we return

Today, my father turned 70

But there’ll be no celebrations, no hugs and no joy.

On 25-Jumada al-Awwal 1434AH, Saturday the 6th of April 2013 I lost my father, my friend, my mentor.

My father had fought cancer for the last two years of his life and did so with a determination and stoicism that belied the true nature of the savage affliction that was ravaging his body.

He fought it to his last breath and he fought it with dignity.

I thank you all for your calls and words of comfort. All I can ask is that you make duah for my father that Allah has mercy on his soul, forgives any of his wrongdoings and elevates his status in the akirah.

My father’s legacy is huge, how does the eldest son follow in the footsteps of the eldest son?

To my father, “The Big Man” I leave you in the care of Allah, as nothing is lost that is in his care.

Over this same last two year period, I have lost my Aunt, a dear school friend that I grew up with and father to 3 young boys, both to cancer, while another one of my friends remains hospitalised on long-term life support. As many of you know, I’ve had my own health issues & quite simply, I do not have it in me to continue any more.

The cathartic release that writing has provided, this blog, the twitter battles, it’s no longer enough, and the anger is too visceral.

I’m cashing out and leaving town.

But I know, that I am my Fathers son & it is his blood and his anger that flows through my veins, it was his battle for justice & activism that had me politicised as a two year old.

I know that I am my Mothers son & it is her blood and her passion that had me on the picket lines as a six year old…..but those are stories for another day.

My revolution, my struggle, my jihad, it’ll continue and in time I’m sure I’ll reactivate this blog and The Akh will be resurrected, but for now, I’m hanging the mask up.

Assalamu alaikum wa rahmatullahi wa barakatuh

May the peace, mercy & blessings of Allah be with you all

The Akh

12 Jumada – al Thani 1434AH
22 April 2013

Comments Off on Inna lillahi wa inna ilayhi raji’oun – From Allah we come & to him it is we return

Filed under Experiences

Comments are closed.